Awakening the Soul (sitting)

The movements of Awakening The Soul are the most basic Qi-gong movements within the Sheng Zhen Wuji Yuan Gong system. The eight movements are practiced while sitting on a stool or chair. These movements serve as a guide to life, a gift given at the start of the spiritual journey. Through the practice of Awakening The Soul, one is able to return to the beginning, to the newness of coming into this physical realm for the first time and the experience of opening of one’s heart.

Healing Gong I, II, & III

A restorative medical qigong, Sheng Zhen Healing Gong is an integration of healing traditions, using the power of Nature to heal oneself. These seated practices lead one to the original state that abides in every human being. One comes to experience the opening of the Heart and the stillness of the mind. There are three stages: stage I is for gathering healing qi into the body, stage II for integrating the healing qi in the body, and stage III allows healing qi to go deep into each cell of the body. Stage III requires mastery of stage I and II.

Heaven Nature Gong

This practice gifts the practitioner with the experience of the sacredness of their body. Through this form the qi flows through the body and gradually does its work of opening your heart in the moment and releasing the suppleness and compassion of the original heart. The grace that is developed is simply a reflection of the true nature of the human heart, full of compassion and love. Physically this practice purifies the meridians, strengthens the spine, and develops healthier muscles. In the practice of Heaven Nature Gong we see our body as the boat on our journey to love.

Union of Three Hearts Meditation

This seated meditation form trains the mind to cultivate tranquility and peace from which it can return to the Origins of life. This form brings breath, intention, and qi to the dantian, or belly, which is the first heart or earth heaven. Then the breath, intention, and qi are brought to the heart or middle heaven and the two are brought into alignment. Finally the breath, intention, and qi are brought to ni-wuan in the head and the third heart, the heart of heaven is aligned. In this way heaven, earth, and humanity are united as one.

Heart Mind as One

Heart Mind as One Qi-gong as a practice moves us out of selfish, personal love so that we are able to experience Divine power in our body and in our being. These movements draw out the experience of pure or unconditional love, the most powerful energy we know. It is this power of pure or unconditional love that both manifests and transforms all things. This standing qi-gong incorporates both moving and non-moving stances. The physical movements are for cultivating qi and the stillness is to bring you back to your heart.

Return to Spring

Inspired by Lao Tzu, the power in this standing form is inherent in our ability to return to our natural state of being. Through the practice of Return to Spring we return to the harmony found in nature. The natural balance found in the moon’s path around the earth or the sun’s path through the seasons can be experienced within our own bodies’ movements. Breathing is natural; the heart is free of imbalance, and the mind free of worry. Return to Spring is the return to essential and restorative nothingness, the primordial or original essence.

Qi-gong is the most internal of the Chinese body/mind disciplines. Qi-gong forms are sitting, standing, or walking, and arose in ancient China from shamanic and martial movements derived from deep observation of Nature and the Dao. The movements are combined with breathwork and internal awareness of one's self. The stagnation of internal energy is the root of illness and disease from a Daoistic perspective. Qi-gong achieves deep healing and restoration through the daily practice of clearing stagnation and developing vital energy. Sheng Zhen Gong forms also cultivate the heart and spirit. By enhancing the heart’s connection with Oneness the heart motivates the brain to choose balanced actions in the world.